Python-Powered Dreams Unveiled: A Journey of Challenges, Growth, and Zeal in the Tech World.

Python-Powered Dreams Unveiled: A Journey of Challenges, Growth, and Zeal in the Tech World.

I started learning Python programming language in 2022. Using Sololearn, random crash courses from YouTube, articles, documentations, and books. And yes, Stack Overflow was my go-to site.

I became comfortable using the Python language and then started exploring the surface-level of its modules/packages; Kivy, Pandas, Numpy, and a few others. I took up coding challenges and tackled most of Sololearn's free code coach problems. I even began building some beginner-friendly projects like rock-paper-scissors and tic-tac-toe games. All in the bid to figure out my path. It was a process. And I enjoyed every bit of it.

As a pragmatic fellow that I am, I was not to be bothered about aesthetics. Who design epp? What mattered most, to me, was the algorithm. How to implement them and ensure that things work fine. That was all I was concerned with. As time went on, I became even more familiar with Python. And I chose to try out the pro-careers available in that space.

So, I started with machine-learning courses from Sololearn. This launched me deeper into packages I had explored their surface-level like Numpy and Pandas, and now including Math, Matplotlib… and the list goes on. Mind-blowing experience! The downside however, was I didn't like the fact I had to know some maths statistics formulas. I was sure that there were some packages to make life easy there, but puff!! I didn't resonate with anything Data Science/Engineering. I knew I had to let those slide.

In search of a career at the time, I was only open to the ones available with my knowledge of Python alone.

So then, I decided to try out web development. All I was getting from my research were to learn HTML, CSS, and JavaScript first. Oh boy! What happened to Python? I was so into Python. And I sort of believed that HTML and CSS were common knowledge - wherever that came from? - I told myself, “I would not be bothered!” I began to filter my search to just Python. And then, I discovered web frameworks like Flask and Django for web development. It was a relief! In November 2022, I settled for Django after some research. While I explored my newest friend, Django, I heard about AltSchool Africa.

AltSchool Africa is a virtual tech school. I found the entire school concept intriguing, so I applied and took their assessment test twice. I failed the first time but luck shined on me. I got a second chance. Long story short, I had to deal with the thing I dreaded from the beginning of the whole matter. The obnoxious HTML, CSS, and JavaScript! They each looked me in the eye and winked at me. In a split moment, all I saw everywhere was “Nowhere to hide! Nowhere to run!” What can I do? I braced up and rose to the occasion.

It’s been 3 months now, since the AltSchool academic year began. And it's all been good. First semester has been done and dusted. Now, I am choosing Python backend engineering as my track for the next semester. Quite frankly, It has been one hell of a bumpy ride. But I'm happy. I am in a good place. Zealous as ever. In this tech field, I'm pushing every day to get better.

What have you been up to lately? Share your thoughts in the comment section. Let’s rub minds together. In the meantime, I wish you the absolute best in all your endeavours.